Welcome to the Blogsite of CESDEV-Nursing
Community Extension Services & Development
University of Cebu-Banilad College of Nursing!

This blogsite shall serve as your online access for information, updates, photo displays, videos, news, relevant links and other matters related to the programs and activities of UC Nursing CESDEV as well as other features that may be of peculiar interest and value to the University of Cebu community and the multitude of blog visitors.


Two long weekends await the public this Christmas season as President Benigno S. Aquino III said on Saturday that he would adhere to the “holiday economics” law of the previous administration, which declared December 24 and 31 as special non-working holidays.

The President said that former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo’s Proclamation 1841 declared 10 regular holidays, four special non-working holidays, and a special holiday for 2010.

“Nakalagay na po ‘yan doon sa batas na ipinairal, eh. So andoon na rin ‘yung detalye, pero palagay ko kasama ‘yon (Dec. 24 and 31). Hindi ko lang alam kung hanggang saan (It’s in the law which is in effect. I just don’t know the exact details but I think those dates are included),” Aquino said in a chance interview after attending the Nationwide Barangay Assembly in Barangay Central Plaza this city on Sunday.

Proclamation 1841 stated that regular holidays for December 2010 include New Year’s Day (January 1), Christmas Day (December 25, Saturday), and Rizal Day (December 27, Monday nearest December 30).

The same proclamation included December 24 (Christmas eve) and December 31, the last day of the year, as special non-working days for December 2010.

Under Republic Act 9492 or the so-called holiday economics law holidays, except those that are religious in nature, are moved to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order, or proclamation.